You are here

Home Technical Wing Prime Minister’s Trophy & Steel Ministers Trophy

Prime Minister’s Trophy & Steel Ministers Trophy

Consequent upon announcement made by former Prime Minister, Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao, while dedicating Vizag Steel Plant to the nation on 1.8.1992, Government have decided to present an award known as Prime Minister’s Trophy and a cash award of Rs. 1 crore each year to the best performing integrated steel Plant(s) to generate a sense of competition and for improvement of performance of the integrated steel plants.

The objective of instituting the award for the integrated steel plants is to give recognition to outstanding performance in this vital sector of the national economy, which draws heavily on resources of capital and skilled manpower. The award is intended to spur these major producers to achieve international standards of efficiency, quality and economy in their operations. Ministry of Steel has since decided to increase the Award money of PM’s Trophy to Rs 2 crore and also a Runners Up to the PM’s Trophy (called the Steel Minister’s Trophy) has been launched with effect from FY 2006-07 with cash award of Rs 1 crore.

The performance of the plants is judged by a Panel of Judges headed by Secretary (Steel) and with members from eminent technologists, management experts, trade union leaders, economists, consumers of iron & steel according to a scheme drawn up by an expert committee. The scheme has been partly aligned with Confederation of Indian industry (CII) scheme of award for business excellence.

Under this scheme the Technical Wing is pursuing the following activities:

  • Formulation of the Scheme and Appointment of the Panel of Judges for assessment of the performance of the steel plants.
  • Appointment of Assessors for assessment of Enabling Parameters and Customer’s satisfaction Index.
  • Co-ordination with the Secretariat & participating steel plants and assisting in assessment of performance and presentation of the Trophy.  

The following is a list of PM’s and SM’s Trophy winners since its inception :

Prime Minister’s Trophy for excellence in performance of Integrated Steel Plants
No. Year PM’s Trophy Winner SM’s Trophy Winner
1 1992-1993 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -Not Applicable (NA)-
2 1993-1994 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -NA-
3 1994-1995 Tata Steel Ltd. (TISCO) -NA-
4 1995-1996 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -NA-
5 1996-1997 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -NA-
6 1997-1998 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -NA-
7 1998-1999 Tata Steel Ltd. -NA-
8 1999-2000 Tata Steel Ltd. -NA-
9 2000-2001 Tata Steel Ltd. -NA-
10 2001-2002 Tata Steel Ltd. -NA-
11 2002-2003 Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd -NA-
12 2003-2004 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -NA-
13 2004-2005 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL -NA-
14 2005-2006 Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd -NA-
15 2006-2007 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL RINL ( VSP)
16 2007-2008 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL JSW Steel, Bellary
17 2008-2009 Tata Steel Ltd Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL
18 2009-2010 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL RINL (VSP).
19 2010-2011 Tata Steel Ltd. Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL
20 2011-2012 Bhilai Steel Plant of SAIL JSW Steel Ltd.
21 2012-2013 JSW Steel Ltd. Tata Steel Ltd.
22 2013-2014 Tata Steel Ltd JSW Steel, Vijaynagar.
23 2014-15 Under Evaluation Under Evaluation
24 2015-16 Under Evaluation Under Evaluation